Agency Leadership

For 100 years Waterford Country School has worked to meet the special needs of children and families at risk. Our services and programs have evolved with the transitions that life and community present. Through it all, the mission and high standards of care have remained constant. Together with a highly dedicated and skilled staff, Board of Trustees and many friends in the community, we have developed an extensive array of programs and are committed to the spirit of doing “Whatever It Takes.” We work hard to ensure that each child entrusted to our care is given the opportunity to grow, learn, and develop at his or her own pace.

Chris Lacey

Chief Executive Officer

Chris joined Waterford Country School in 1998 and has advanced through WCS programs in his tenure, most notably as the Director of Foster Care since 2006. Chris became the CEO overseeing all of Waterford Country School in 2021. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology and a Master’s Degree in Human Services from Springfield College. 

860-442-9454      clacey@waterfordcs.org

Emily Thomson

Chief Operating Officer

Emily joined Waterford Country School in 2001 as a clinician in the Safe Home Program. She was promoted to Residential Program Director in 2012 and oversaw all child residential programs until she became the COO in 2021. Emily graduated from Western New England College with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and received a Master of Science in Psychology from Connecticut College. She is a CARE trainer, TCI trainer and Seven Challenges Trainer.

860-442-9454      ethomson@waterfordcs.org

Stacy Lowry

Chief Financial Officer

Stacy joined the Waterford Country School staff in September 2019. In her role, she provides leadership to the Finance, Human Resources, Information Technology and Foodservice departments. She loves to encourage critical/analytical thinking, problem-solving, and collaboration through effective communication.  Stacy holds a Master of Business Administration degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and a Bachelor of Science Degree in Accounting from the University of Connecticut. 

860-442-9454      slowry@waterfordcs.org

Sharon Butcher

Director of Education/School Principal

Sharon has been an employee of Waterford Country School since the summer of 1979. She started as a child care worker and moved into the Education Department in 1984. In 2004 she was selected as the Director of Education and continues to serve in this role. Sharon holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from Eastern Connecticut University.

860-442-9454      sbutcher@waterfordcs.org

Lisa Duzy

Director of Foster Care & Community Services

Lisa joined Waterford Country School in 1998 as a Foster Care Coordinator and later became a supervisor in the therapeutic foster care program. In 2017 she became the Director of the Foster Care and Community Services overseeing the foster care program, training & support team and mental health clinic for children. Lisa has a Bachelor’s Degree in Human Development & Family Relations from the University of Connecticut. She holds a Master’s Degree from St. Joseph’s College in Marriage and Family Therapy.

860-442-9454      lduzy@waterfordcs.org

Ben Turner

Director of Outdoor Education

Ben began working at WCS in 2009 as an Outdoor Education Facilitator. In 2015 he became the Director of all Outdoor Education programs. Ben holds a Bachelor’s degree from Northeastern University in Business Management and a certificate in Animal-Assisted Therapy from the University of Denver.  Ben is a member of the International Association of Human-Animal Interaction Organizations (IAHAIO). Ben oversees all client animal-assisted therapy, ropes course management, wildlife rehabilitation, summer camp and community education & fundraising events.

860-442-9454      bturner@waterfordcs.org

Julianna Velazquez

Director of Development

Julianna believes that philanthropy is a tool that creates change and transforms people’s lives. As the Director of Development, she has led all fundraising initiatives since 2011. Julianna earned an undergraduate degree from the University of Connecticut focused on Human Development and Family Studies, a Master of Science in Nonprofit Management from Northeastern University and a Doctoral degree in Strategic Leadership from Regent University. She has worked in fundraising for about 20 years.

860-442-9454      jvelazquez@waterfordcs.org

Brian Rolfe

Director of Buildings & Grounds

Brian joined Waterford Country School in 2017. He brings with him over 30 years of construction and maintenance experience, traveling and supervising projects such as power plants, schools, casinos, water treatment plants, restaurants and residential properties. In 2011, he received a construction excellence award for the incredible building of 7 restaurants in 12 weeks at one of Connecticut’s casinos.

860-442-9454      brolfe@waterfordcs.org

Jenna Baerlocher

Director of Residential Programs

Jenna came to Waterford Country School in October of 2014. She manages all residential programs at WCS including the Emergency Shelter for teenage youth, the Residential Treatment program and the Therapeutic Boarding program. Jenna holds a Master’s Degree in Marriage & Family Therapy from the University of Rhode Island and a Bachelor’s Degree in Child, Family & Consumer Sciences from the University of Idaho. She is a certified CARE trainer, TCI trainer and Seven Challenges leader.  

860-442-9454      jbaerlocher@waterfordcs.org

Ashley Barker
Quality Parenting Center
abarker@waterfordcs.org

Bhavesh Vachhani
IT Director
bvachhani@waterfordcs.org

Jennifer Morgan
Supervising Nurse
jmorgan@waterfordcs.org

Elena French
Assistant Director of Development
efrench@waterfordcs.org

Tina Cote
Camp Cuheca Director
tcote@waterfordcs.org

Shannon Eichman
Assistant Director of Education
seichman@waterfordcs.org

Kelly Walker
Assistant Director of Education
kwalker@waterfordcs.org

Ankita Vachhani
Business Manager
avachhani@waterfordcs.org

Lisa Kuhn
Food Services Coordinator
lkuhn@waterfordcs.org

Nicole Allen
Human Resources Coordinator
nallen@waterfordcs.org

Darryl Miles
Assistant Director of Residential Programs
dmiles@waterfordcs.org

Emily Soares
Admissions Counselor
esoares@waterfordcs.org